Skip top navigation
<p>1914 map of the Federal Reserve System and District borders, from the "Decision of the&nbsp;Reserve Bank Organization&nbsp;Committee"&nbsp;</p>

The Federal Reserve Act of 1913 called for a central banking system with a central governing Board and a decentralized operating structure of multiple Reserve Banks. This hybrid structure is still in place today.

<p>Map of the Federal Reserve System showing District boundaries, Federal Reserve Banks, and Branches.&nbsp;</p>
Federal Reserve Banks

The 12 Federal Reserve Banks are the operating arms of the Federal Reserve System. Each Reserve Bank is an independent corporation and operates within its own particular geographic area, or District, of the U.S.

<p>Photo of the Marriner S. Eccles Building in Washington, D.C.&nbsp;</p>
The Board of Governors

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve is a U.S. federal agency that guides the operation of the Federal Reserve System, including overseeing the operations of the 12 Reserve Banks.

<p>Interior of the Board room in the Marriner S. Eccles building</p>

Originally created by the Banking Acts of 1933 and 1935, the Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC) continues to set monetary policy for the United States.