Skip top navigation

Interim Leaders in the Federal Reserve System

Under the terms of the Federal Reserve Act, the first vice president of a Bank serves as chief executive officer of that Bank "in the absence or disability of the president or during a vacancy in the office of the president."

Since the Federal Reserve Banks opened in 1914, dozens of individuals have served as interim Bank presidents, for terms ranging from two weeks to nearly a year. As part of our commitment to transparency, the Federal Reserve History site includes pages for these interim presidents while they remain in that role, and then removes the interim's page once the new president has taken office.

For more information, see How is a Federal Reserve Bank president selected? and Directors—Appointment of Reserve Bank Presidents and First Vice Presidents (PDF) on the Federal Reserve Board of Governors website.

Recent interim Bank presidents:

  • Mark S. Meder, Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland, July 1, 2024-August 20, 2024
  • Kathleen O'Neill, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, July 13, 2023-April 1, 2024
  • Kelly Dubbert, Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City, February 1, 2023-August 20, 2023
  • Meredith N. Black, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, October 9, 2021-August 21, 2022
  • Mark L. Mullinix, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond, April 5, 2017-January 1, 2018