Home | Federal Reserve History

About Federal Reserve History

Teaching and Learning Federal Reserve History

Contact Us

Terms of Use

Privacy Policy

Related Resources

Time Periods

All Time Periods

After the Accord

Before the Fed

The Fed's Formative Years

The Great Depression

The Great Inflation

The Great Moderation

The Great Recession and After

WWII and After


About the Fed: An Introduction to the U.S. Central Bank

Asian Financial Crisis

Bank Holding Company Act of 1956

Bank Holiday of 1933

Banking Act of 1933 (Glass-Steagall)

Banking Act of 1935

Banking Acts of 1932

Banking Panics of 1930-31

Banking Panics of 1931-33

Banking Panics of the Gilded Age

Community Reinvestment Act of 1977

Creation of the Bretton Woods System

Depository Institutions Deregulation and Monetary Control Act of 1980

Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act of 2010

Emergency Banking Act of 1933

Employment Act of 1946

Failure of Continental Illinois

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Improvement Act of 1991

Federal Open Market Committee

Federal Reserve Act Signed into Law

Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

Federal Reserve Bank of Boston

Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago

Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland

Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City

Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Federal Reserve Bank of New York

Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia

Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond

Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Federal Reserve Banks

Federal Reserve Credit Programs During the Meltdown

Federal Reserve Reform Act of 1977

Financial Services Modernization Act of 1999, commonly called Gramm-Leach-Bliley

Fostering Payment and Settlement System Safety and Efficiency

Full Employment and Balanced Growth Act of 1978 (Humphrey-Hawkins)

Garn-St Germain Depository Institutions Act of 1982

Gold Reserve Act of 1934

Latin American Debt Crisis of the 1980s

Launch of the Bretton Woods System

Liberty Bonds

McFadden Act of 1927

Monetary Policy

Near Failure of Long-Term Capital Management

Nixon Ends Convertibility of U.S. Dollars to Gold and Announces Wage/Price Controls

Oil Shock of 1973–74

Oil Shock of 1978–79

Promoting Consumer Protection and Community Development

Promoting Financial System Stability

Recession of 1937–38

Recession of 1981–82

Reserve Bank Organization Committee

Reserve Banks Open for Business

Riegle-Neal Interstate Banking and Branching Efficiency Act of 1994

Roosevelt's Gold Program

Savings and Loan Crisis

Stock Market Crash of 1929

Stock Market Crash of 1987

Subprime Mortgage Crisis

Supervision and Regulation

Support for Specific Institutions

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

The Federal Reserve's Role During WWI

The Federal Reserve's Role During WWII

The Fed's Functions

The Fed's Structure

The First Bank of the United States

The Great Recession

The Meeting at Jekyll Island

The Panic of 1907

The Second Bank of the United States

The Second World War and Its Aftermath

The Smithsonian Agreement

The Treasury-Fed Accord

Volcker's Announcement of Anti-Inflation Measures


All People

Adolph C. Miller

A.L. Mills

Alan S. Blinder

Alan Greenspan

Albert Strauss

Alfred L. Aiken

Alfred Hayes

Alfred H. Williams

Alice M. Rivlin

Allan Sproul

Andrew F. Brimmer

Andrew W. Mellon

Anthony M. Santomero

Anthony M. Solomon

Archibald C. Kains

Arthur F. Burns

Aubrey N. Heflin

Ben S. Bernanke

Benjamin Strong

Bruce K. MacLaury

Buckner A. McKinney

C. Canby Balderston

C. E. Earhart

Carl E. Allen

Carter Glass

Cathy E. Minehan

Charles L. Evans

Charles I. Plosser

Charles N. Shepardson

Charles M. Sawyer

Charles S. Hamlin

Charles A. Morss

Charles J. Rhoads

Charles J. Scanlon

Chester C. Davis

Christopher J. Waller

Clifford S. Young

Daniel R. Crissinger

Daniel K. Tarullo

Darryl R. Francis

David W. Mullins

David F. Houston

David C. Biggs

David C. Wills

David M. Lilly

David P. Eastburn

Delos C. Johns

Dennis P. Lockhart

Donald L. Kohn

E. Gerald Corrigan

E. P. Passmore

Edmund Platt

Edward G. Boehne

Edward H. Cunningham

Edward M. Gramlich

Edward A. Wayne

Edward L. Norton

Edward W. Kelley

Eliot J. Swan

Elizabeth A. Duke

Elvadore R. Fancher

Emmett J. Rice

Eric S. Rosengren

Ernest G. Draper

Ernest T. Baughman

Esther L. George

Eugene R. Black

Eugene I. Meyer

Frank E. Morris

Frederic S. Mishkin

Frederic A. Delano

Frederick L. Deming

Frederick H. Schultz

G. William Miller

Gary H. Stern

George W. Mitchell

George H. Hamilton

George J. Seay

George R. James

George W. Norris

George J. Schaller

George H. Clay

George H. Ellis

George L. Harrison

G.H. King

H. Robert Heller

H. Gavin Leedy

Harold T. Patterson

Harry A. Shuford

Henry Morgenthau

Henry M. Dawes

Henry C. Wallich

Henry A. Moehlenpah

Hermann N. Mangels

Hugh Leach

Hugh D. Galusha

Ira Clerk

J. Alfred Broaddus

J. Roger Guffey

J. Dewey Daane

J. Charles Partee

Jack Guynn

James B. McDougal

James K. Vardaman

James F. T. O'Connor

James Bullard

James K. Lynch

James L. Robertson

Janet L. Yellen

Jeffrey M. Bucher

Jeffrey M. Lacker

Jeremy C. Stein

Jerome H. Powell

Jerry L. Jordan

J.J. Thomas

Jo Zach Miller

John P. LaWare

John Skelton Williams

John S. Sinclair

John J. Balles

John W. Pole

John U. Calkins

John C. Williams

John E. Sheehan

John R. Mitchell

John K. McKee

John N. Peyton

Joseph A. McCord

Joseph A. Erickson

Joseph W. McIntosh

Joseph A. Broderick

Karen N. Horn

Karl R. Bopp

Kevin M. Warsh

Lael Brainard

Laurence H. Meyer

Laurence F. Whittemore

Lawrence Clayton

Lawrence K. Roos

Lawrence B. Lindsey

Loretta Mester

Lyle E. Gramley

Lynn P. Talley

Malcolm H. Bryan

Manuel H. Johnson

Mark H. Willes

Mark W. Olson

Marriner S. Eccles

Martha R. Seger

Mary C. Daly

Matthew J. Fleming

Maximilian B. Wellborn

Michael H. Moskow

Michelle W. Bowman

Milo D. Campbell

Monroe Kimbrel

M.S. Szymczak

Nancy H. Teeters

Narayana Kocherlakota

Neel Kashkari

Ogden Mills

Oliver S. Powell

Oscar Newton

Oscar Wells

Patrick T. Harker

Paul E. Miller

Paul A. Volcker

Paul M. Warburg

Philip C. Jackson

Philip E. Coldwell

Preston Martin

Ralph W. Morrison

Ralph E. Flanders

Randal K. Quarles

Randall S. Kroszner

Raphael Bostic

Ray M. Gidney

Richard F. Syron

Richard W. Fisher

Richard H. Clarida

Richard L. Van Zandt

Robert D. McTeer

Robert T. Parry

Robert S. Parker

Robert P. Forrestal

Robert P. Black

Robert C. Holland

Robert Steven Kaplan

Robert R. Gilbert

Robert H. Boykin

Robert P. Mayo

Roger W. Ferguson

Rolla Wells

Ronald Ransom

Roy A. Young

Rudolph M. Evans

Sandra Pianalto

Sarah Bloom Raskin

Sherman J. Maisel

Silas Keehn

Stanley Fischer

Stephen S. Gardner

Susan S. Bies

Susan M. Phillips

Theodore Wold

Theodore H. Roberts

Thomas M. Hoenig

Thomas C. Melzer

Thomas B. McCabe

Timothy F. Geithner

Tom Barkin

W. Braddock Hickman

W. Lee Hoskins

Watrous H. Irons

Wayland W. Magee

Wayne D. Angell

Wilbur D. Fulton

William F. Ford

William W. Sherrill

William S. McLarin

William Poole

William A. Day

William B. Geery

William C. Dudley

William G. McAdoo

William J. McDonough

William W. Paddock

William Woodin

William P.G. Harding

William McChesney Martin

William McChesney Martin

Willis J. Winn

Willis J. Bailey


About the Fed

Community Development

Federal Reserve Banks

Federal Reserve History

Fed Governance

Financial System Stability

International Economics

Monetary Policy

Payment Systems

Purposes and Functions

Supervision and Regulation

The Fed's Structure